The Tab makes it easy for you to get the phone you really want on the terms that are right for you.
It’s basically the easy and affordable way to get a new phone with Koodo. Once your Tab balance reaches zero, your monthly bill actually goes down – you’ll only need to pay your monthly plan charge.
Good to know: To be eligible for the Tab, you’ll need to pass a credit check. If you don't have a Tab and you want to bring your own phone to Koodo, you won't need to pay a Tab balance.
What are my options on the Tab?
The Tab makes getting the right balance of upfront cost and monthly payment easy. If you choose an option with a larger Tab, you can get the latest phones at the lowest upfront cost, as low as $0. Or you can choose a Tab option that allows you to pay more upfront and lower your monthly payments.
Some rate plans might only be available depending on the Tab you choose. See available rate plans on Tabs as well as the differences between Tab types on our rate plans page.
Finding your Tab balance in Self Serve
You can see the remaining balance owing on your Tab by logging into Self Serve and selecting Koodo Tab from the Self Serve menu.
At the top, you’ll see a snapshot of your remaining Tab balance as well as the number of months remaining before your Tab reaches $0. To view a more detailed list of Tab transactions, scroll to the “Tab History” section at the bottom of this page. You might notice that the Tab balance is shown as a negative number. This simply means that you have a remaining balance that will be reduced each month through your Tab payments.
Please note: As of July 5, 2020, Tab balance and transaction details will no longer be on the downloaded PDF bill and can only be seen on the “Koodo Tab page” in Self Serve. Learn more about the Koodo Tab page.
Changing your rate plan on the Tab
Plan not suiting your needs? No worries. Check out Self Serve to find something that works for you. Note that your rate plan options may vary based on things like your Tab or any special promotions you received when you signed up.
If you want to change to a rate plan that is not available for your Tab or the promotion you received when you signed up, you will need to pay off your remaining Tab and/or Tab Bonus balance before switching to another plan.
Paying off your Tab
- When you sign up with a Tab, your Tab balance will be split into 24 months. Each month, you’ll pay a Tab charge, which reduces the Tab balance until it reaches $0.
- You have the option to pay off your Tab balance in full before it reaches $0, but before you can pay off your Tab Balance, you'll need to wait for at least 90 days after you sign up for a Tab. If you pay off your Tab balance but still have a remaining Tab Bonus balance, it will continue to go down each month until it reaches $0 after 24 months.
How does the Tab Drop-Off work?
Once your Tab balance is $0, the Tab charge drops off your bill, leaving you with more money in your pocket each month.
What is the Tab Bonus?
Similar to the Tab, the Tab Bonus helps to reduce the cost of your phone, making it easy for you to get the phone you really want. The difference between the Tab and the Tab Bonus is that you pay a Tab charge to reduce your Tab balance every month, but your Tab Bonus is all for you - on us. Learn more about the Tab Bonus.
Getting a new plan if you activated or upgraded before April 19, 2015
Our Canada-wide plans are available with the new Tab only. As an existing customer, you can switch to a new plan when you upgrade your phone or when you pay off your Tab balance.
If you’re currently receiving a 10% bring-your-own-phone (BYOP) discount, you’re free to switch to our new plans anytime.
Just so you know, since the new plans are already discounted, you’ll no longer receive an additional 10% off your monthly bill when you make the switch.
If your account is suspended for non-payment, your Tab charge will still be applied on a monthly basis.
To remove the suspension on your account, log in to your Self Serve account to make the required payment. A reconnection fee of $50 will apply.
Account cancellation and phone upgrades
If you cancel your account or upgrade your phone before your Tab balance has been paid off, you’ll be charged the remaining Tab balance and/or the Tab Bonus balance on your next bill (or directly in store for phone upgrades). Please note that if you pay off your Tab early early but you still have a remaining Tab Bonus (formerly Phone Credit) balance, you will be charged the remaining Tab Bonus balance upon cancellation or upgrade.
Any recurring charges that were billed at the beginning of your billing cycle or any credit balance under $5 will not be refunded when your service is cancelled.