Rate plan proration explained

When you change your rate plan during your bill cycle, the amount of data and minutes you get access to during your first month of your new rate plan will be prorated. This means that you won’t have the full amount of your data until the first day of your next bill cycle (the first full bill cycle with your new rate plan).  For example, if you switch from a 6GB rate plan to a 10GB rate plan with 12 days left in your bill cycle, you will have access to 4GB of data for these 12 days (10GB x 12 days remaining ÷ 30 day bill cycle). You will have access to the full data amount once you start your first full bill cycle.

Here are some of the most common questions people ask us about rate plan proration:

I switched my rate plan, but I had data remaining from my last plan. Will it be carried over?

No. When you switch to a new plan, you’ll get to enjoy the features on your new plan and everything from your old plan will no longer be valid

When will I get the full amount of data stated in my rate plan?

You’ll be able to fully use your data the following month/on your first full bill cycle. Your data only gets prorated for a certain amount of time in the remainder of your bill cycle when you first switch over to a new plan.

Why is data prorated before my first full bill cycle?

When you switch over to a new rate plan during your bill cycle, you do not pay the full price for the plan; instead, the amount is prorated to reflect how much of the billing period is remaining. Prorating equally applies to the services provided; meaning that the amount of data available will also reflect how much of the current billing period is remaining.

What is a full bill cycle?

A full bill cycle is the time period from the date of one bill to the date of the next bill. So, if your bill cycle commences on January 5, then your cycle would cover the period from January 5 to February 4, and this period would be full cycle. When you change your rate plan part way through your current bill cycle, your first bill will be only for a portion of your full bill cycle.

If I have changed my rate plan, when does my new plan begin and my old one end?

Your new rate plan will begin the moment we send you a confirmation. As soon as you get this, it also means that your old plan is no longer in service.

We are constantly finding ways to improve our service and the feedback you leave here helps us to do that. However, we can’t respond to individual messages from this form.

Need more help?

Visit the Koodo Community.

Check it out